top of page


About local students for local students!

Brisbane's very own Australia Independent Film Festival is once again proud to present SEQ Future Stars film and screenplay category for Southeast Queensland high school students in years 10 - 12 at AIFF24.

“A massive thank you to Australia Independent Film Festival for having me as a guest judge today for their SEQ Future Stars session today. I got to see some amazing short films from some really talented young filmmakers. Well done to Jeremy and Rich for putting on another successful year of this growing festival, and thanks to my co-judges Tfer and Drew 👏🎬🎥”


Bart Mellish MP – Member for Aspley

AIFF23 SEQ Future Stars Highschool student winner.

A live jury will score each official selection film as it is screened. The screening session will conclude with a dedicated awards ceremony.

The Team at AIFF have wanted to create a high school category for several years but were never quite sure how to best include it within the festival until now. We believe creating an almost mini festival within our main festival is a real breakthrough for several reasons.

  • Students will only be competing amongst other students in years 10-12. 

  • The submission area is limited to SEQ so that if a film is selected and the filmmakers, family, wish to attend they will be within driving range.

  • Official Selection Films shown within the session will not be mixed with other festival films that will most likely have more mature content and have been created by more experienced practitioners.  There will also be a special awards ceremony immediately after the screening session.​​

Entry is open to any genre of short film (10 min max) or short screenplays (15 pages max) with the award categories being.

Best Short Film - Best Film Poster - Best Screenplay - Best Short Film (runner up) - People's Choice

Film and Screenplay entry starts at U$10. Entry fee includes all award categories in film.

Entry is online @ 


Where: Metro Arts West End

When: SATURDAY 26 October

Screening & AWARDS @ 11am - 1.30pm (approx).

Tickets Adults $17.50 CONCESSION $15 + booking fee.

Please note - All official selection films will include two complimentary tickets to SEQ Future Stars.

Students are allowed to enter one screenplay / film per entry fee, but multiple entries are accepted. 

Entrants will need to set up a filmfreeway account and upload their film. It is a very easy process.

The last date for entry is August 14 but this may be extended this until August 31.

The top 25% of films will be selected as Semi-Finalist Films. Official Selection Films will then be selected and announced. Official Selection Films will screen at the festival. Please note Semi-Finalist Films will not screen.

We expect films to have correct permissions for music within films. The festival is also licensed through OneMusic for screening purposes.

AIFF23 Jury

Drew Jarvis

Drew is an Australian children's television presenter who has appeared on television programmes The Shak and Lab Rats Challenge.

In 2014, Jarvis joined Network Ten's children's department as the producer of Toasted TV and in 2015 he joined as series producer of the twenty-third series of Totally Wild.[3] In June 2018 he was appointed as the executive producer of children's television on the network.

Tfer Newsome

Tfer is a highly respected Filmmaker and Lecturer who holds a Masters in Film Sound.

She Specialises in sound editing, dialogue editing and mixing for documentaries, and dialogue editing and delivery for games.

Tfer has been teaching sound for for over twenty years being firstly a lecturer at the Film, Screen and Animation School within the Creative Industries Faculty at QUT and now as a seasonal lecturer for Griffith University.

Bart Mellish MP

Bart is the Assistant Minister to the Premier for Veterans Affairs, Trade and COVID Economic Recovery, as well as being the member for Aspley.

Bart has a background in key government and private sector roles and has experience in transport and environmental policy. He holds a Bachelor of Science degree, a Post Grad Cert in Environmental Management and a Masters of Business Administration.

The AIFF24 Jury will be announced prior to the event. 

The festival can be reached at
and we welcome all questions.

bottom of page